top of page

Dear Candy Q&A: The Quality of Our Mind

Join me on Zoom July 8th at 9am Pacific/12pm Eastern for a live Q&A and have your questions answered in real time!

Here is the link to join the zoom meeting: http://tiny.cc/LiveQandA

No registration is required & everyone is welcome! I hope to see you there :)


Reminder: there will be another breath & meditation workshop is happening this Wednesday, June 28 at 5pm Pacific/6pm Mountain/7pm Central/8pm Eastern. To register, please go to http://tiny/cc/June28wellness


Sri Sri Ravi Shankar, the founder of the Art of Living Foundation, says, "The quality of our mind determines the quality of our life." This has definitely been my experience. My quality of life has been tied to the state of my mind far more than the state of my physical health or outer circumstances. Of course those things can have an affect, but the degree to which they do is entirely dependent on our mind.

So how do we positively influence our state of mind in a way that leads to lasting positive changes over time? Brain retraining is a big part of it, no doubt. Catching and redirecting automatic negative thoughts/symptom thought patterns/pops is huge. Calming and elevating our emotional state is important too. Emotions play a big role in our state of mind and vice versa, our state of mind affect our emotions as well. We have learned to elevate our emotions & calm the mind through visualizations, laughter yoga, and gratitude practices. We can also do it through breath work and meditation.


The types of activities we engage in, how we spend our time, and the behaviour habits and patterns that we have also influence our mind. Observe your behaviour and notice if it is moving you forward in your recovery or holding you back. Start to add more behaviours and actions that are in alignment with wellbeing. Research has shown that acts of service improve our wellbeing and positively impact our minds. They don't have to be big acts, it could be as simple as holding the door for someone, smiling at people as you walk down the street, saying hello, reaching out to someone and telling them what you appreciate about them. I invite you to try this right now - tell, text, email or call 3 people and tell them what you appreciate about them. Then see how you feel. See what your state of mind is afterwards.


So, when we are in the process of retraining, it is good to keep the interaction between thoughts, emotions and behaviour in mind, and to use everything at our disposal to support us in improving the quality of our minds.


Until next time!


If you have a question, please email me at dearcandyquestions@gmail.com

__________________________________________________________________________________

Candy Widdifield is Certified Master Coach, Registered Reiki Master Teacher and former Registered Clinical Counsellor, living in Calgary Alberta, Canada. She has a background in brain retraining & nervous system regulation, trauma, grief & loss, mindfulness, somatic therapy, & positive psychology. She taught the DNRS in-person program for 5 years, has over a decade of experience coaching brain re-trainers & provides mentorship to other coaches. Candy works with people all over the world, helping them to optimize their wellbeing and thrive in their lives. More information about Candy can be found at www.candywiddifield.com

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page